facebookpixel

infrared repair edge problems help please

Home Forums Infrared Repair Forum infrared repair edge problems help please

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am new to the asphalt game and have purchased a Ray tech mini combo and I am having problems with the end result of my patches. I have used both a plate tamper and a small ride on roller and I am finding the edges of my patches are “crumbly” for the lack of a better word. I have a big contract that is in jepordy if I can’t figure this out
    Does anyone have and ideas that might help me
    Thanks
    Shane
    Streetworx
    Vernon B.C.

admin
    Keymaster

Shane — I don’t have the answer, but our moderator for this forum probably does. Hopefully he’ll comment soon. If not, we’ll find someone to help. Thanks for posting.

Brett Neal

Anonymous
    Inactive

G’Day Shane,

I presume that your heater panel is 6 x 8; if so, make sure that any single patch is no larger than 5 x 7, therby leaving a 6″ heated but untouched ‘frame’ [/b]surrounding the re-worked section. Pinch roll the edges first and cover the finished patch with a coat of rejuvenator.

Hope I have not stated the obvious – let us know how it is going for you.

Aussie Ron
    1800 Infrared

Aussie Ron is correct in what he told you. There is one other thing. Make sure that your compacter is running on ONLY the heated portion of the asphalt. If you get onto the unheated portion, it will lessen the impact. The rejuvinator is available from D&D emulsions in Ohio. One thing I might add, make sure that the pavement is hot enough when you compact it. I usually shoot it with a temp gun just before compacting. Good Luck.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thank you. One question if I am just pinching the first inch to start the compactor will be running mostly on the unheated asphalt and you were saying to make sure it is only
    Running on the heated portion? Or did I not understand your answae correctly?